When to Talk About Yoga Philosophy

We are standing on the precipice of yoga’s next great incarnation. Over the last century, the practice of yoga has expanded beyond its motherland. Now, in every class we teach, we are forging and defining the identity of yoga within … Read More

Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra

Location: Crown of the head System: Nervous Gland: Pineal Associations: Universal consciousness, intuition, connection with the divine, peace of mind Color: White Element: None, beyond the elements Mantra: None The crown chakra is the seventh chakra and it is at … Read More

Vishuddha (Throat) Chakra

Location: Throat System: Metabolism Gland: Thyroid Associations: Expression, abundance, manifestation, intuition, communication Color: Blue Element: Ether Mantra: Ham The Throat chakra is the fifth chakra. Located at the center of the neck at the level of the throat, it is … Read More

Pratyahara: Vital Step in Meditation

Pratyahara is the fifth element within the Eight Limbs of Yoga. Pratyahara is the withdrawal of the senses. When the mind is focused on things outside of us, the senses pull the mind in many directions. They can direct you toward … Read More

How to Incorporate Ahimsa in Your Daily Life

What is Ahimsa, and Where Does it Come From? Ahimsa is a concept from the Yoga Sutras. Written by the Hindu sage, Patanjali, the Yoga Sutras are a collection of aphorisms, outlining the eight limbs of yoga. Among the eight limbs … Read More

Demystifying The Chakras

What are these chakras you speak of??? The subject of chakras may seem like a far-out concept to someone that is not familiar with them. It’s understandable, as they are a foreign concept in Western culture. Simply put, the chakras … Read More

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

“Yoga is not just repetition of few postures – it is more about the exploration and discovery of the subtle energies of life.” –Amit Ray   More Than Physical When most people think of yoga, they think of getting on … Read More